Web Analytics



Canada: 13 More Countries Added To Electronic Travel Authorization Program

Canada: 13 More Countries Added to Electronic Travel Authorization Program
Content: On June 6, 2023, the Canadian Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Sean Fraser, announced the inclusion of 13 additional countries in the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program.
This expansion allows eligible travelers from these countries to apply for an eTA instead of a visa when flying to Canada. The following countries are now part of the program: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay.
Members of Parliament have expressed their support for this initiative, highlighting the positive impact it will have on the economy and tourism industry.
Kevin Lamoureux, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg North, emphasized the benefits of increased tourism, such as bringing families and friends together and boosting local businesses.
Terry Duguid, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South, looked forward to welcoming more travelers to explore the attractions of Winnipeg and experience its cultural heritage.
Rechie Valdez, Member of Parliament for Mississauga—Streetsville, praised the program's affordability and efficiency, emphasizing the positive impact on the Filipino community and the promotion of diversity and collaboration.
This expansion of the eTA program aims to enhance opportunities for collaboration, trade, and investment while making travel to Canada more accessible for visitors from these 13 countries. By eliminating visa requirements, the initiative seeks to facilitate family reunions, tourism, and cultural exchange, benefiting both the Canadian economy and international relations.